Siesta civic groups to host candidates forum July 19

Author: Share:

A candidates forum for those seeking election in the upcoming Sarasota County Board of Commissioners race is being hosted July 19 by several of Siesta Key’s civic groups.

The Save Siesta Key incorporation group, the Siesta Key Chamber of Commerce, the anti-hotel Siesta Key Coalition, and the Siesta Key Condominium Council are collaborating to hold the forum, set for 5:30 p.m. at Siesta Key Chapel, 4615 Gleason Ave.

All candidates in the races for both District 2 and District 4 seats have been invited to participate, according to Tracy Jackson of Save Siesta Key. Those two districts represent Siesta Key — District 2 the north half (now held by Christian Ziegler, who is not seeking re-election) and District 4 the south half (now held by Alan Maio, who is done as the result of term limits).

The candidates are (in alphabetical order):

District 2:

Fredd Atkins (Dem.), Hagen Body (Dem)., Mike Cosentino (Dem.), Lourdes Ramirez (Rep.), and Mark Smith (Rep.)

Cosentino, Ramirez and Smithy are Siesta Key residents.

District 4:

Mark Hawkins (Rep.), Daniel Kuether (Dem.), and Joseph Neunder (Rep.)

Primaries are being held Aug. 23.




Siesta Sand
Author: Siesta Sand

Previous Article

Save Siesta Key update meeting on Zoom is set for July 13

Next Article

Indoor service finally awaits St. Michael’s attendees