Smith, Neunder to be sworn in Nov. 22

Author: Share:

The two newest members of the Sarasota Board of County Commissioners are being sworn into office at 9 a.m. Nov. 22 at the Sarasota County Administration Building, 1660 Ringling Blvd.

Mark Smith, a Siesta Key resident, won the District 2 election, while Joe Neunder took the District 4 election.

Smith edged former Sarasota mayor Fredd Atkins by a margin of a little more than 1%. Smith garnered 19,141 votes (50.51%) compared to 18,755 for Atkins (49.49%).


Neunder easily defeated Daniel Kuether. Neunder received 28,038 votes (59.42%) and Kuether 19,148 votes (40.58%).

Both Smith and Neunder are Republicans.

They replace Christian Ziegler who chose not to run in District 2 and Alan Maio, who reached term limits in District 4. Maio was chairman of the board.


Siesta Sand
Author: Siesta Sand

Previous Article

Water quality webinar is Dec. 5

Next Article

Smith victorious in District 2 race